Eternal mind of the spotless sunshine


June 4, 2007, 7:44 am
Filed under: chronicles

I laid my eyes on you the very first minute I walked in. There was no way to divert my gaze, so drawn were my eyes to yours. Nothing was expected of me, which felt good, and there I stood, looking you in the eye, hoping for a glimpse of light shining back at me from yours.

You seemed pleasently surprised at me. Calm and gentle, your body language suggested an uneasy empathy. I took that as a compliment and kept staring in my most subtle way. The world seemed quite small then. None could have made me look astray.

‘Hey,’ said I.

‘Hi,’ she quickly replied. One could sense the tension in the air. It was almost palpable.

‘I don’t know what I want,’ I mustered, ‘yet standing here makes me want to ask for something.’

‘Most feel that way. It is inevitable. Most don’t know what they want, and few get what they asked.’

‘But I feel a sudden urge to take my chances.’ Nothing seemed to be completely safe at that moment. Anything could have happened. I wasn’t sure I was ready for the unknown.

‘You must make your stand,’ she said politely and calmly. It made me feel even more nervous. My hands felt gelid, yet I saw them give away sweat. ‘I cannot allow you to stand idle for much longer.’

‘I’m sorry,’ I appologized, ‘never have I felt such a distinct feeling of numbness. My knees seem to be giving in, my hands are cold yet sweat. Try as I must, there doesn’t seem to be an answer awaiting me that seems right and rings true in my heart!’

‘I will help you.’ She said these words with a joyous contempt that instead of making me feel awkward, my hopes were replentished. ‘Time is of the essence, and I urge you to consider my innermost thoughts and heartfelt desire to make your day. I am impelled to fulfill every need you could possiby have, and in my mind this is will serve as a path towards an inevitable feeling of joy beyond your wildest dreams.’

I froze. Thoughts travelled back and forth in my mind, as those amazing kind brown eyes looked on at me. The words she spoke were the most vivid and enticing words ever spoken. I felt reborn, replentished in the notion that I was about to get exaclty everything I could have possibly wanted then. The world felt right possibly for the first time in my entire life. I didn’t want the feeling to end. It seemed too good to be true.

‘You will be most happy with our new veggie burger. It’s delicious.’ She had already set up the tray, beautifully, with the fries perfectly placed beside the coca-cola cup. It seemed almost poetic. An artwork of sorts.

‘What the hell, I’ll have a double cheeseburger as well!’

She smiled.

It was the happiest day of my life.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

